Rauboniai Watermill and the Wool Carding-Spinning Workshop
This mill, built at the end of the nineteenth century, is by the highway Pasvalys–Biržai and it lies in the valley of the River Tatula. The documents show that in 1775 the grain was grinded by two millstones, rotated by two wooden wheels, which were turned by the flow of the River Tatula. At that time, this water mill was the only one in Krinčinas parish. In 1860, the landowner Louis von Ropp (1824–1897) bought Rauboniai village and the old mill. He built a red-bricked construction, which is still standing so far. In 1907, a red bricked mill and wool carding–spinning workshop were launched. Its technological equipment was purchased in England and Sweden.
In 1940 the Rauboniai mill was expropriated, but during the Soviet period it continued to operate. The millstones stopped spinning in 1987 and the wool carding–spinning workshop was closed in 1997. During the period from 1991 to 1993 the wool carding-spinning workshop of Rauboniai belonged to the Pasvalys consumer services company and since 1995 it belonged to the municipality of Pasvalys registered as a joint-stock company.
While the mill was working, there was formed the whole complex consisting of the pond, the water channel and the building, where the equipment of the mill and the wool carding-spinning workshop were installed. The mill turbines were rotated by the water, which came flowing from the pond water channel.
Today, this complex is an important historical and architectural object as well as a rare engineering object with well-preserved technological equipment. Because of its unique value it is protected by the State as a historical, technological and architectural monument for this reason the old machines are preserved to these days.